Proclamation 5 of 2023

PROCLAMATION

HIS EXCELLENCY EMMERSON DAMBUDZO MNANGAGWA, G.C.Z.M, President of the Republic of Zimbabwe and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces of Zimbabwe.

WHEREAS, in terms of Proclamation 4 of 2023, published in Statutory Instrument 85 of 2023 the 23rd of August was fixed as the date of the election to the office of President, the election of members of the National Assembly and election of councillors, that is to say, as the day on which a poll shall be taken if a poll becomes necessary in terms of section 46(17)(c) or 125(4)(b) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13] for the election to the office of President or any such members of the National Assembly or councillors;

AND WHEREAS it has been ascertained that certain polling stations for the wards specified in the Schedule to this proclamation have not opened in the time specified in section 53(1) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13];

AND WHEREAS, section 53(1) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13] provides that if for good cause shown it is not possible to open a polling station at 7:00 am then the polling station shall be opened at such later time but will be kept open for at least twelve (12) hours continuously on **polling day**;

AND WHEREAS it has been noted that for some polling stations in the wards specified in the Schedule to the proclamation this period will overlap into a day that is not a polling day;

AND WHEREAS section 38(4) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13] gives the President power, by further proclamation in the Gazette to alter any day, time or place fixed in terms of subsection (1) or (3) of section 38 and the day, time or place as so altered shall be deemed to have been fixed in terms of the appropriate subsection of section:

NOW, THEREFORE, under and by virtue of the powers vested in the President as aforesaid, I do, by this proclamation in respect of

the affected polling stations for the wards listed in the Schedule to this Proclamation fix the 24th of August, 2023, as the last day of polling for the election to the office of President, the election of members of the National Assembly and election of councillors.

Given under my hand and the Public Seal of Zimbabwe at Harare, this 23rd day of August, in the year of Our Lord two thousand and twenty-three.

E. D. MNANGAGWA,
President

By Command of the President.

SCHEDULE

PROVINCE	WARD NUMBER	LOCAL AUTHORITY
Manicaland	8	Buhera RDC
Manicaland	25	Buhera RDC
Manicaland	1	Chimanimani
Manicaland	2	Chipinge RDC
Manicaland	1	Chipinge Town Council
Manicaland	2	Chipinge Town Council
Manicaland	3	Chipinge Town Council
Manicaland	7	Makoni RDC
Manicaland	7	Mutare Municipality
Manicaland	22	Mutare RDC
Manicaland	25	Mutare RDC
Manicaland	6	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	16	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	17	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	18	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	19	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	20	Mutasa RDC

S.I. 151 of 2023

PROVINCE	WARD NUMBER	LOCAL AUTHORITY
Manicaland	21	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	25	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	26	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	27	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	28	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	29	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	30	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	31	Mutasa RDC
Manicaland	19	Nyanga RDC
Manicaland	26	Nyanga RDC
Mash. Central	3	Pfura RDC
Mash. Central	4	Bindura RDC
Harare	32	Harare Municipality
Harare	30	Harare Municipality
Harare	12	Harare Municipality
Harare	26	Harare Municipality
Harare	33	Harare Municipality
Harare	31	Harare Municipality
Harare	34	Harare Municipality
Harare	14	Harare Municipality
Harare	24	Harare Municipality
Harare	28	Harare Municipality
Harare	16	Harare Municipality

